Facebook Instagram

Wellness Weekends: Four Relaxing Hideaways with Spas Between the Alps and the North Sea

Soothe your senses in a sauna with panoramic mountain views, treat yourself to an aromatherapy massage, curl up in front of the fireplace with your favourite book — spend your next vacation feeling relaxed and balanced in these four getaways from our Weekender Editions.

Scroll
show Close
1 MUNICH

Das Kranzbach

Munich city centre 103 km
Weekender Edition München p. 198
Car <90 min
PT <120 min

Das Kranzbach

Das Kranzbach has all the makings of a fairytale castle—British noblewoman Mary Isabel Portman fell head over heels for the Garmisch landscapes while travelling around the region over a century ago. Smitten by her surroundings, in 1913, she had an English-style country residence built not far from Wettersteinspitze. But the outbreak of World War I  shattered her dreams—even though her holiday home was completed, she was never able to move in. In 2007, as the local villagers coined it, the so-called English castle awoke from its slumber. Ilse Crawford, renowned for designing New York’s Soho House, was inspired by Portman’s original vision for the hotel’s interior.

The result? A space that artfully captures the essence of yesteryear without sacrificing 21st-century luxury. Guests can choose between staying in the historic main house, modern extension or unique treehouse suites. The latter invites you to drift off to sleep between the crowns of ancient trees. The hotel’s extensive wellness area reveals a range of saunas, steam baths and pools, as well as a large sunbathing lawn.

Directions Das Kranzbach

2 BERLIN

Schloss Selchow

Berlin city centre 68 km
Weekender Edition Berlin Vol. II p. 258
Car <75 min
PT <120 min

Schloss Selchow

Schloss Selchow is an impressive chateau tucked away in the small village of Selchow at the heart of Dahme-Heideseen Nature Park’s expansive landscapes. The house’s hosts, Susanne and Christoph Kamps, have been renting out this lavishly refurbished and renovated manor since 2016. It was initially erected in 1913 as a summer residence. Today, the elegant rooms reveal herringbone parquet flooring, Art Deco-inspired furnishings and a contemporary kitchen with antique tiled floors.

Schloss Selchow’s 1,200-square-metre space is designed to host larger groups of up to 16 people and can only be rented out as a whole. This luxurious getaway in Brandenburg features seven bedrooms with cosy queen-sized beds, a dining room with a long banquet table and a garden hall with a concert grand piano. A cinema, library with a billiard table, cosy fireplace corners and deluxe wellness area with a hammam and Finnish sauna make for the perfect spa retreat. The terrace offers beautiful views over the expansive park and Großen Selchower See.

Directions Schloss Selchow

3 HAMBURG

Beach Motel St. Peter-Ording

Hamburg city centre 150 km
Weekender Edition Hamburg p. 22
Car <120 min
PT <195 min

Beach Motel St. Peter-Ording

Ordinger Sandstrand embodies carefree American surfer spirit in a quiet dune landscape. Beach Motel St. Peter-Ording’s low-key, shabby-chic ambience evokes daydreams of West Coast beach houses, sun-bleached hair, wetsuits and flip-flops—footwear frequently donned by the unpretentious yet professional team. From smaller rooms to spacious lofts and suites, Beach Motel has something to suit everyone’s needs.

Bond over tapas and wood-fired pizza in the hotel’s in-house restaurant or share a late-night drink at the bar. Long walks on the sandy, 112-kilometre beach and mudflat hikes past the famous pile dwellings are best followed by relaxing evenings at the private cinema or in-house spa. Three saunas, eight treatment rooms and a spacious relaxation area with exciting showers beckon. Treat yourself to a soothing facial treatment or full-body massage before relaxing in the outdoor hammock area and letting the salty North Sea breeze blow through your hair. Well-worth a visit, rain or shine!

Directions Beach Motel St. Peter-Ording

4 MUNICH

Hubertus Mountain Refugio Allgäu

Munich city centre 180 km
Weekender Edition München p. 286
Car <135 min
PT <210 min

Hubertus Alpin Lodge & Spa

Balderschwang, renowned as Germany’s highest and smallest independent municipality, was once only accessible from Austria. Today, you can reach the remote high valley where the Traubels run their family-owned wellness hotel, Hubertus Mountain Refugio Allgäu, via various routes. The feelings of peacefulness and solitude still prevail. Traditional farmhouse architecture meets contemporary design at the heart of Nagelfluh Nature Reserve.

This extensively renovated house aptly merges the then with the now-–brushed woods, linens and furs lend the space its countryside character without sacrificing present-day luxuries. Anyone seeking to combine wellness holidays with time in nature will feel right at home here. At 1,044 metres above sea level, relaxation is guaranteed at this heated outdoor pool, various saunas and steam bath. The wellness experience is perfectly rounded off with yoga classes, massages and detox rituals.

Directions Hubertus Mountain Refugio Allgäu

Unique accommodations for a break from everyday life

Berlin, Hamburg oder Munich and beyond—in our Weekender Editions, we curate the most beautiful retreats at the water’s edge in different regions across Germany. The getaways we feature artfully merge hospitality, modern design, traditional craft and sustainability.

Photos:

Anneliese Kompatscher, Wolfgang Ehn, Schloss Selchow, Andrea Flak, Hubertus Mountain Refugio Allgäu

 

Related Products

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Close

You will be forwarded directly to our publishing shop

Shop now!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Share

Menü Schließen
Facebook Instagram

Unterkünfte mit Spa: Vier ruhige Refugien für einen Wellness-Urlaub zwischen Alpen und Nordsee

Mit Bergblick saunieren, eine Aromaöl-Massage genießen und mit einem Buch vor dem Kamin im Ruheraum die Zeit vergessen: Wer im Urlaub auf der Suche nach Entspannung und Ausgeglichenheit ist, wird in diesen vier Unterkünften aus unseren Weekender Editionen fündig.

Scrollen
anzeigen Schließen
1 MÜNCHEN

Das Kranzbach

München Zentrum 103 km
Weekender Edition München S. 198
Auto <90 Min.
ÖV <120 Min.

Das Kranzbach

Das Hotel Das Kranzbach sieht nicht nur wie ein Märchenschloss aus, auch seine Geschichte ist märchenhaft: Bei einer Reise verliebte sich die Britin Mary Isabel Portman in die Garmischer Landschaft und ließ sich 1913 unweit der Wettersteinspitzen einen Landsitz im Stil ihrer Heimat errichten. Mit dem Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkriegs platzen ihre Träume – ihr Feriendomizil wurde zwar fertiggestellt, beziehen konnte sie es jedoch nie. 2007 erwachte das „Englische Schloss“, wie das Anwesen von den Dorfbewohnern genannt wurde, aus seinem Dornröschenschlaf.

Für die Inneneinrichtung ließ sich Ilse Crawford, bekannt für die Gestaltung des New Yorker Soho House, von Portmans Ursprungsvision inspirieren. Entstanden ist ein Ort, der aus der Zeit gefallen wirkt, ohne auf den Luxus des 21. Jahrhunderts zu verzichten. Gäste kommen im historischen Haupthaus, dem modernen Anbau oder der einzigartigen Baumhaus-Suite unter, die zum Schlafen inmitten der Wipfel einlädt. Auch der weitläufige Wellnessbereich mit Saunen, Dampfbädern, Pools und einer großen Liegewiese verspricht Entspannung.

Anfahrt Das Kranzbach

2 BERLIN

Schloss Selchow

Berlin Zentrum 68 km
Weekender Edition Berlin Vol. II S. 258
Auto <75 Min.
ÖV <120 Min.

Schloss Selchow

Im kleinen Ort Selchow im Naturpark Dahme-Heideseen befindet sich das imposante Schloss Selchow inmitten einer weitläufigen Parkanlage. Seit 2016 vermieten die Gastgeber Susanne und Christoph Kamps das 1913 als Sommerresidenz erbaute Gutshaus, das sie aufwendig und stilsicher renoviert haben. Heute warten die eleganten Räume mit Fischgrätparkett, an Art déco orientierter Einrichtung sowie einer modernen Küche mit historischem Fliesenboden auf.

Im 1.200 Quadratmeter großen Schloss Selchow kann man sich mit größeren Gruppen von bis zu 16 Personen treffen, vermietet wird das Haus nur als Ganzes. Sieben Schlafzimmer mit bequemen Queensize-Betten, ein Speisesaal mit langer Tafel und ein Gartensaal mit Konzertflügel bieten ausreichend Platz für eine luxuriöse Auszeit in Brandenburg. Ein Kino, eine Bibliothek mit Billardtisch, gemütliche Kaminecken und ein edler Spabereich mit Hamam und finnischer Sauna machen das Luxuswochenende perfekt. Von der Terrasse aus hat man eine schöne Aussicht über die weitläufigen Parkanlagen und den Großen Selchower See.

Anfahrt Schloss Selchow

3 HAMBURG

Beach Motel St. Peter-Ording

Hamburg Zentrum 150 km
Weekender Edition Hamburg S. 22
Auto <120 Min.
ÖV <195 Min.

Beach Motel St. Peter-Ording

Junges, amerikanisches Surfer-Flair in beschaulicher Dünenlandschaft: Am Ordinger Sandstrand ist dieses Konzept aufgegangen. Das sanfte Shabby-Chic-Ambiente assoziiert man mit den Strandhäusern der Westküste, sonnengebleichtem Haar, Neoprenanzügen und Flip-Flops – Schuhwerk, das man am Team, das hier unprätentiös und professionell zugleich auftritt, tatsächlich sieht. Von kleineren Zimmern bis hin zu großzügigen Lofts und Suiten bietet das Beach Motel St. Peter-Ording für jeden Anlass einen Platz. Bei Tapas und Steinofenpizza lernt man sich im Hausrestaurant kennen oder genießt zu später Stunde gemeinsam einen Drink an der Bar.

Nach Strandspaziergängen und Wattwanderungen entlang der berühmten Pfahlbauten am 112 Kilometer langen Sandstrand merkt man spätestens im Spa oder Privatkino, wie sich der Alltagsstress langsam in Rundumentspannung auflöst. Im hauseigenen Ocean Spa locken drei Saunen, acht Behandlungsräume und eine großzügige Ruhelandschaft mit Erlebnisduschen. Nach einer wohltuenden Gesichtsbehandlung oder Ganzkörpermassage lässt man sich in der Hängematte im Außenbereich die raue Nordseebrise um die Nase wehen. Nicht nur an Schietwettertagen einen Besuch wert!

Anfahrt Beach Motel St. Peter-Ording

4 MÜNCHEN

Hubertus Mountain Refugio Allgäu

München Zentrum 180 km
Weekender Edition München S. 286
Auto <135 Min.
ÖV <210 Min.

Hubertus Mountain Refugio Allgäu Wellness-Urlaubn Lodge & Spa

Früher war Balderschwang, Deutschlands höchste und zugleich kleinste eigenständige Gemeinde, nur von Österreich aus zu- gänglich. Heute erreicht man das entlegene Hochtal, in dem die Traubels ihr Wellnesshotel Hubertus Mountain Refugio Allgäu betreiben, auf verschiedenen Wegen. Das Gefühl von Ruhe und Zurückgezogenheit herrscht jedoch noch immer.

Inmitten des Naturparks Nagelfluh trifft Stadl-Architektur auf Design. Das rundum modernisierte Haus verbindet Geschichte mit Zeitgeist – gebürstete Hölzer, Leinen und Felle verleihen dem Ort Traditionscharakter, ohne auf den Luxus der Gegenwart zu verzichten. Wer Wellnessferien mit Naturgenuss verbinden will, ist hier, auf 1044 Höhenmetern, richtig: Ein ganzjährig beheizter Außenpool, verschiedene Saunen und ein Dampfbad versprechen Entspannung, während Yogaangebote, Massagen und Detox-Rituale das Wohlfühlerlebnis abrunden.

Anfahrt Hubertus Mountain Refugio Allgäu

Besondere Unterkünfte für eine Auszeit vom Alltag

Ob Berlin, Hamburg oder München – in unseren Weekender Editionen versammeln wir die schönsten Refugien in Wassernähe in verschiedenen Regionen. Was die Unterkünfte verbindet, ist das Gespür, mit dem die Betreiber modernes Design, Tradition und Nachhaltigkeit kombinieren.  

 

Fotos:

Anneliese Kompatscher, Wolfgang Ehn, Schloss Selchow, Andrea Flak, Hubertus Mountain Refugio Allgäu

 

Verwandte Produkte

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Schließen

Du wirst direkt zu unserem Verlagsshop weitergeleitet

→ Jetzt besuchen!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Teilen