Facebook Instagram

Our Four Favourite Lakes Near Leipzig

Icy waters in former quarries, expansive lakes, shady green oases that evoke a South Sea flair—the landscapes around Leipzig reveal a string of breathtaking bathing spots. Here are our four favourites!

Scroll
show Close
1 EAST

Kirchbruch

Leipzig city centre 17 km
Car <30 min
PT <30 min

Kirchbruch Leipzig Osten Take Me to the Lakes

Swimming in a wildly romantic stone pool’s deep blue waters at the foot of a historic church—all the makings of a summer fairy tale reveal themselves just half an hour from Leipzig. This former quarry is encircled by rugged granite rocks. Beucha Church overlooks its waters from the comfort of a jagged hilltop. The quarry was flooded in the late 1950s’ after the church was closed its doors. Because Kirchbruch is up to 38 metres deep in some places, it remains pleasantly cool even at the height of summer. If you dip your toes into the water, you’ll find two easily accessible entry points on the quarry’s southeastern and northern shores. Climbing enthusiasts and thrill-seekers can also jump directly from the cliffs or scuba dive in these chilly waters.

Leipzig Edition
p. 74

Directions Bergkirche Beucha Parking Lot

2 WEST

Wallendorfer See

Leipzig city centre 31 km
Car <45 min
PR <75 min

Wallendorfer See Leipzig Westen Take Me to the Lakes

This 300-hectare lake is tucked away amidst wetlands, riverscapes and pilgrimage trails. Wallendorfer See was transformed from a former open-cast mine into a lake in the early 2000s’. It has been open to the public for bathing since 2018. Bathers are invited to spread out their towels on three designated beaches. They share these shorelines with birds that nest on the islands in the south. Whilst the large sunbathing lawn, with its sandy beach and volleyball court on the lake’s northern shore, attracts flocks of visitors, you’ll come across quieter and more solitary places to recline nearby in the small reed-lined bays. The water here is so clear you can spend hours watching schools of fish from the pier. If you fancy a hike or cycle, we recommend exploring the numerous trails that lead through the surrounding wetlands.

Leipzig Edition
p. 210

Directions Wallendorfer See Parking Lot

3 SOUTH

Waldsee Lauer

Leipzig city centre 9 km
Car <15 min
PT <45 min

Waldsee Lauer Leipzig Süden Take Me to the Lakes

If you find yourself caught in a stream of bathers heading for Cospudener See and Markkleeberger See on a hot summer’s day, we recommend venturing off the beaten path a little earlier than your fellow sun-seekers. This will guide you to the lesser-known gem called Waldsee. Only a handful of people make their way along these narrow paths, searching for this peaceful lake’s pristine waters, surrounded by trees and reeds. A series of small access points are dotted along the shoreline, making it easy to find a secluded spot to call your own for the day. Recline in the shade under willow branches on Waldsee’s eastern shore, glide into the water from sandy bays that make up its western shore, and watch the passing canoeists from its northern shore.

Leipzig Edition
p. 156

Directions Cospudener See Parking Lot

4 EAST

Grillensee

Leipzig city centre 22km
Car <30 min
PT <45 min

Grillensee Leipzig Osten Take Me to the Lakes
Whenever we feel a strong sense of wanderlust, we soothe our sense of longing at Grillensee. As we stand on this white pebble beach and look out over these turquoise blue waters, the South Seas feel closer than ever. Leave familiar cityscapes behind and head towards Leipzig’s southeastern district. Cycle past the Monument to the Battle of the Nations and let the fresh scent of woodlands guide you to the idyllic forest that encircles the lake. Take a break in the shade along the promenade before making your way towards the beach on the lake’s southern shore or birch groves on its eastern shore. The atmosphere around the lake is always relaxed. Divers and anglers are just as happy unwinding in these waters as nudists and dog owners.

Leipzig Edition
p. 60

Directions Wurzener Straße Parking Lot

From Barren Quarries to Stunning Nature Reserves

It’s hard to imagine that just 30 years ago, heavy machinery tore through Leipzig’s foothills as far as the eye could see to mine lignite and excavate coal. Today, nature takes centre stage in these pristine landscapes. North, south, east and west of Leipzig, flora and fauna are rapidly reclaiming their territories, giving way to places of refuge and wild landscapes en route. We’re captivated by Leipziger Neuseenland’s countless bathing spots. A short trip to take a quick dip in former quarries promises a unique sense of adventure as we set out to track down these open-air pools. Dive from jagged rocks into deep blue waters and hike through wetland reserves to discover secluded shorelines. An abundance of beauty is just waiting to be explored beyond the city’s borders.

Discover more recommendations for pristine lakes in the region in our Take Me to the Lakes – Leipzig Edition. We bring you 50 wondrous lakes and 120 bathing spots near the city. In addition to some of the more renowned lakes in the region, such as Cospudener See, Markkleeberger See und Störmthaler See, you’ll also find smaller, lesser-known bodies of water.

Related Products

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Close

You will be forwarded directly to our publishing shop

Shop now!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Share

Menü Schließen
Facebook Instagram

Unsere vier Lieblingsseen in Leipzig

Eiskaltes Wasser in ehemaligen Steinbrüchen, weitläufige Seen und schattige grüne Oasen mit Südseeflair: In und um Leipzig gibt es viele schöne Badestellen. Hier sind unsere vier Lieblingsseen.

Scrollen
anzeigen Schließen
1 OSTEN

Kirchbruch

Leipzig Zentrum 17 km
Auto <30 Min.
ÖV <30 Min.

Kirchbruch Leipzig Osten Take Me to the Lakes

Schwimmen im tiefblauen Wasser eines wildromantischen Steinpools am Fuße einer historischen Kirche: Was wie in einem Sommermärchen klingt, ist nur eine halbe Stunde von Leipzig entfernt Realität. Der ehemalige Steinbruch ist eingerahmt von schroffen Granitfelsen und einer Anhöhe, auf der die Bergkirche Beucha thront. Nach seiner Stilllegung Ende der 50er Jahre wurde der Kirchbruch geflutet. Stellenweise ist er bis zu 38 Meter tief und bleibt deshalb auch im Hochsommer schön frisch. Wer erst einmal vorsichtig die Zehen in den See tauchen will, findet zwei sanfte Einstiegsmöglichkeiten im Südosten und Norden. Kletterfreudige und besonders Versierte stürzen sich von den Seiten ins kühle Nass und erkunden das Gewässer tauchend.

Leipzig Edition
S. 74

Anfahrt Parkplatz Bergkirche Beucha

2 WESTEN

Wallendorfer See

Leipzig Zentrum 31 km
Auto <45 Min.
ÖV <75 Min.

Wallendorfer See Leipzig Westen Take Me to the Lakes

Inmitten von Feuchtauen, Flussverläufen und Pilgerwegen liegt der 300 Hektar große See, der Anfang der 2000er aus einem ehemaligen Tagebau entstanden ist und 2018 als Badegewässer freigegeben wurde. Seitdem teilen sich die auf den Inseln im Süden nistenden Vögel das Gelände mit Badegästen, die an drei offiziellen Stränden ihr Handtuch ausbreiten. Während es an der großen Liegewiese mit Sandstrand und Volleyballfeld im Norden sportlich zugeht, findet man in den kleinen Schilfbuchten nebenan ein ruhiges Plätzchen zum Lesen. Das Wasser hier ist so klar, dass man an der Spitze des Steges sogar Fischschwärme beobachten kann. Wer Lust auf eine Wanderung hat oder mit dem Rad anreist, erkundet die umliegende Auenlandschaft auf zahlreichen Wegen.

Leipzig Edition
S. 210

Anfahrt Parkplatz Wallendorfer See

3 SÜDEN

Waldsee Lauer

Leipzig Zentrum 9 km
Auto <15 Min.
ÖV <45 Min.

Waldsee Lauer Leipzig Süden Take Me to the Lakes

Wer sich an einem Sommertag im Strom der Badewütigen treiben lässt, die Cospudener See und Markkleeberger See ansteuern, sollte ein klein wenig früher abbiegen. So erreicht man nämlich das unbemerkte Kleinod des Waldsees. Nur wenige finden den Weg entlang der engen Pfade bis zum friedlichen See, der von Bäumen und Schilf umrandet ist. Um das Gewässer schlängeln sich kleine Zugänge, so dass man hier leicht ein lauschiges Plätzchen findet. Während man am Ostufer im Schatten unter Weiden verweilt oder am Westufer von Sandbuchten aus ins Wasser gleitet, kann man am Nordufer den vorbeiziehenden Kanuten hinterherschauen.

Leipzig Edition
S. 156

Anfahrt Parkplatz Cospudener See

4 OSTEN

Grillensee

Leipzig Zentrum 22km
Auto <30 Min.
ÖV <45 Min.

Grillensee Leipzig Osten Take Me to the Lakes

Wenn uns das Fernweh überkommt, fahren wir zum Grillensee. Steht man am weißen Kiesstrand und schaut über das stellenweise türkisblaue Wasser, fühlt sich die Südsee ganz nah an. Lasst Alltag und Stadt im Südosten Leipzigs hinter euch, radelt vorbei am Völkerschlachtdenkmal und dann immer der Nase nach bis zum an den See angrenzenden idyllischen Wald. Nach einer Verschnaufpause an einer der schattigen Uferpromenaden ist Abkühlung am Strandabschnitt der Südseite oder unter den östlich gelegenen Birkenhainen nicht mehr weit. Die Atmosphäre am See ist ungezwungen, hier werden Taucher*innen und Angler*innen genauso glücklich wie Nacktbadende und Hundebesitzer*innen.

Leipzig Edition
S. 60

Anfahrt Parkplatz Wurzener Straße

Vom kargen Tagebau zum üppigen Naturschutzgebiet

Wo sich noch vor 30 Jahren Braunkohlebagger in jeder Himmelsrichtung durch das Leipziger Vorland gruben, steht heute die Natur im Vordergrund. Nördlich, südlich, östlich und westlich von Leipzig erwarten euch Naherholungsgebiete und Rückzugsorte, an denen die Natur sich ungestört ihre Reviere zurückerobert. Wir schätzen das Leipziger Neuseenland und die umliegende Gegend vor allem für die unzähligen spannenden Badestellen. Ein kurzer Ausflug zum Baden fühlt sich in den gefluteten Tagebaulöchern nämlich eher nach Abenteuerexkursion als nach Freibad-Besuch an. Von Granitfelsen in die tiefblauen Fluten springen, Autowracks beim Tauchen inspizieren und durch Auenlandschaften an abgelegene Ufer wandern. Hinter den Grenzen der Stadt gibt es einiges zu entdecken!

Noch mehr Empfehlungen für schöne Seen findet ihr in der Take Me to the Lakes – Leipzig Edition. Hier stellen wir euch unsere 50 Lieblingsseen mit über 120 Badestellen unweit des Stadtzentrums vor. Neben beliebten Seen wie dem Cospudener See, Markkleeberger See und Störmthaler See im Leipziger Neuseenland, findet ihr vor allem auch kleinere Badeseen, die nicht jeder kennt.

Verwandte Produkte

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Schließen

Du wirst direkt zu unserem Verlagsshop weitergeleitet

→ Jetzt besuchen!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Teilen