Facebook Instagram

A Luxurious Island Getaway: New Wave Hotel

The perfect destination for nature lovers with a penchant for fine dining and design—New Wave Hotel on Norderney Island.

Photographs Hotel New Wave
Scroll
show Close
1 SPOT

New Wave Norderney

Distance from Hamburg 290 km
Distance from Berlin 560 km

 

newwave Lobby 0611

This summer, we set out towards the North Sea to explore the East Frisian Islands. Our trip evoked fond memories from our childhoods; countless holidays spent at the seaside with our parents and grandparents; innumerable sunny days traversing the coastline; endless hours relaxing in holiday homes on one of the many isles… As young adults, our curiosity drove us to explore more far-off destinations; the familiar East Frisian landscapes felt somewhat old-fashioned compared to the exotic beaches around the world. Little did we know, a decade later, our research for our Hamburg Edition and Weekender Edition Hamburg would bring us full circle. We returned to the North Sea’s shorelines only to be greeted by an abundance of beauty—cosy holiday homes, stunning apartments and impressive hotels. We knew then and there that we’d return to the islands to rediscover their shorelines. 

newwave Zimmer Seesteern 0014

Our first trip brought us to Norderney, an island nestled between Juist and Baltrum. Only out-sized by Borkum, this 26.3 square-kilometre island prides itself in being the second-largest of the twelve East Frisian Islands. Norderney is conveniently located for holiday goers looking to escape Hamburg, Bremen, Lower Saxony and North Rhine-Westphalia for long weekends in nature. It’s only a few hours’ drive or train ride from these destinations to Norddeich. From here, a 50-minute ferry ride later drops vacationers on Norderney’s shorelines. The centre of town is only a few minutes from the ferry terminal. While many of the older hotels and holiday homes in the area give off a somewhat shabby feel, newly-erected establishments are attracting an increasing number of guests who value high-end design and tasteful décor.

newwave Front 0656

We booked a room in Norderney’s New Wave Hotel, and from the minute we set foot on the premises, it felt like we were coming home. New Wave Hotel opened its doors in 2019, an event which had a significant impact on the shift towards increased modernisation efforts of the local hotel landscape. Relaxing music and young, friendly staff greet us in the boutique design hotel’s lobby. The sense of style emanating from the hotel’s interior mirrors design concepts that have established themselves in Berlin, Hamburg and Munich’s trendiest establishments. We’d certainly never experienced this tasteful aesthetic on Norderney Island before. Michael, the manager, revealed that the hotel is owned by the Möller family who fondly filled their establishment with James Bond memorabilia, Pop Art, 60s furniture, and Scandinavian design elements. New Wave Hotel is sure to warm every design lover’s heart. Finnish box-spring beds are surrounded by the likes of Vitra, Knoll International, Hay, Stelton, Muuto and other timeless design classics. The motto “Pop Art meets laid-back Scandi décor” weaves through the hotel’s interior, and a different colour scheme reveals itself on each floor. While the soft pink rooms on the ground floor (“SEESTERN”) represent seashells’ multitude of shades, the blue hues in the rooms on the first floor (“NEY”) evoke a cool ocean breeze. Further up, the second floor’s (“SÂN”) yellow palette breathes elements of sunshine and sand, and the third floor’s (“DÚN”) green tints draw from the grasses that thrive in the dunes. Families, couples and single travellers all feel at home in the hotel’s 73 rooms.

newwave Secret Garden 0369

 

We opted for one of the Seestern (“starfish”) rooms because it came with a little terrace. Every morning, we started our day with a sumptuous breakfast at Oktopussy, the hotel’s in-house restaurant. Oktopussy’s à la carte menu features a delectable selection of breakfast platters as well as a series of specials, such as the “Morning Glory” power-bowl, the “Sweet & Salty Pancake Morning” and the “Surf & Turf” roast beef bagel.

newwave Frühstück 0826

2 SPOT

Wild Beach

strand Norderney

Cycling is by far the best mode of transport for exploring the island. You can rent bikes at the hotel and set out on one of the many adventures Norderney has to offer. A good rule of thumb: the further east you go, the quieter it gets. If you prefer walking, we recommend the trail that starts on the island’s eastern-most parking lot (53.713205, 7.257758) and passes through the nature reserve. It will lead you to a shipwreck on the other side of the island.

bildschirmfoto 2020 10 20 Um 14.18.17

The rolling sight of dunes and pristine landscapes await you en-route. If you circle back via the beach on the island’s northern shore, it should take about 3 – 4 hours to complete the entire hike. And for those lazy days at the seaside, wicker beach chairs are lined up on the island’s the western and northern beaches. Norderney Island is delightful all-year-round, and we’d especially recommend coming during the low season. It’s much quieter here in autumn and winter, and you’ll have the beaches almost entirely to yourselves. New Wave Hotel serves as the perfect starting point for bicycle tours through the dunes and long walks on the beach rounded off by the best breakfasts on the island and delectable dinners at Oktopussy.

3 SPOT

Oktopussy Restaurant

newwave Restaurant Oktopussy 0477

Make your way up to the Skyfall Bar before nightfall. The bar is located on the hotel’s rooftop, making it the perfect place for an aperitif while watching the sunset. You don’t have a direct view of the sea from every table, but the atmosphere is very cosy, and the drinks are delicious. Oktopussy’s dinner menu is also a huge highlight. The kitchen is currently run by Sascha Lissowsky, a top chef who made a name for himself in the award-winning restaurant “La Vie” in Osnabrück.

newwave Food 016

Nothing rounds off a long day of salt-kissed air like his nourishing menu which features down-to-earth international dishes made from regional ingredients. The menu changes monthly leaving little to be desired. The chef’s young team is attentive and dedicated to ensuring the well-being of every guest. With your heart full and your belly bursting, it’s relieving to find yourself just a few footsteps away from your soft pillowcase. If you want to dine at Oktopussy during peak season, we’d recommend reserving a table—the restaurant’s 80 seats are certainly sought-after.

P.S.: If you’re in Berlin and eager to experience Sascha Lissowsky’s kitchen and the Möller family’s restaurant philosophy, treat yourself to a meal at Anouki Brasserie in Charlottenburg.

newwave Food 019

 

 

 

Related Products

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Close

You will be forwarded directly to our publishing shop

Shop now!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Share

Menü Schließen
Facebook Instagram

Ein luxuriöser Inselausflug: das New Wave Hotel auf Norderney

Der perfekte Ort für Naturliebhaber, die Wert auf gehobene Küche und Design legen.

Fotos: Hotel New Wave / Mike Krueger
Scrollen
anzeigen Schließen
1 SPOT

Hotel New Wave Norderney

Entfernung von Hamburg 290 km
Entfernung von Berlin 560 km

 

newwave Lobby 0611

Diesen Sommer haben wir uns auf den Weg an die Nordsee gemacht, um die Ostfriesischen Inseln zu erkunden. Als Kinder haben wir mit unseren Eltern und Großeltern oft an der Nordseeküste oder auf einer der Inseln ein Ferienhaus oder eine Ferienwohnung gemietet, um den Sommerurlaub am Meer zu verbringen. Seitdem haben uns weiter entfernte Orte und Meere mehr gereizt und die Ostfriesischen Inseln und auch viele Unterkünfte wirkten etwas altmodisch und eingestaubt auf uns. Aber schon bei der Recherche zu unserer Hamburg Edition und Weekender Edition Hamburg haben wir wunderschöne Orte, Ferienhäuser, Ferienwohnungen und Hotels an der Nordsee besucht und uns wurde schnell klar, dass wir nicht nur die Küste, sondern auch die Inseln neu entdecken wollen.

newwave Zimmer Seesteern 0014

Die erste Entdeckungsreise führte uns nach Norderney. Zwischen Juist und Baltrum erstreckt sich Norderney über eine Fläche von 26,3 Quadratkilometern, was sie zur zweitgrößten Ostfriesischen Insel nach Borkum macht. Gerade für Großstädter aus Hamburg, Bremen, Niedersachsen und Nordrhein-Westfalen ist Norderney gut gelegen, um ein langes Wochenende oder auch einen längeren Urlaub zu verbringen. Bis Norddeich sind es mit dem Auto oder dem Zug nur wenige Stunden bevor man in die Fähre steigt, um ca. 50 Minuten später auf Norderney zu sein. Vom Fähranleger ist man in wenigen Minuten im Zentrum, wo man viele Ferienwohnungen und Hotels findet. Der Großteil davon wirkt etwas in die Jahre gekommen, aber neue Hotelkonzepte ziehen immer mehr Gäste an, die Wert auf Design und hochwertige Einrichtung legen.

newwave Front 0656

Während wir Norderney erkundet haben, sind wir im New Wave Hotel untergekommen und haben uns vom ersten Moment an sehr wohlgefühlt. Mit seiner Eröffnung im Jahr 2019 hat das New Wave einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Modernisierung der Hotellandschaft auf Norderney geleistet. Wer das Boutique Hotel betritt, wird mit entspannter Musik in der Lobby und von freundlichem, jungen Personal begrüsst. Schnell sieht man, dass hier bei der Einrichtung bewusst mit klarem Konzept ein Stil verfolgt wurde, den man auch in angesagten Hotels in Großstädten wie Hamburg, Berlin oder München findet, der aber bisher nicht auf der Insel Norderney zu finden war. Spricht man etwas länger mit Hotelleiter Michael Buchhop, so erfährt man, woher die Liebe zu James Bond, Pop Art der 60er Jahre und skandinavischem Design der Eigentümerfamilie Möller herrührt. Designliebhaber werden hier ihre Freude haben – neben Boxspringbetten aus Finnland, findet man hier Designklassiker von Vitra, Knoll International, Hay, Stelton und Muuto. Nach dem Motto „Pop-Art trifft auf skandinavische Lässigkeit!“ variiert der Einrichtungsstil farblich je nach Etage und spiegelt die einzelnen Elemente von Norderney wider. Die Rosatöne der Zimmer im Erdgeschoss („SEESTERN“) stehen für die bunte Vielfalt der Muscheln, das Blau der Zimmer in der ersten Etage („NEY“) für die kühle Meeresbrise, das gelb der Zimmer in der zweiten Etage („SÂN“) für den Sand und das Grün der Zimmer in der dritten Etage („DÚN“) für die Gräser der Dünen. Insgesamt warten im Hotel 73 Zimmer auf Familien mit Kindern, Pärchen und Alleinreisende.

newwave Secret Garden 0369

Wir haben es uns in einem Seestern-Zimmer mit kleiner Terrasse gemütlich gemacht und jeden Tag mit einem super leckeren Frühstück im hoteleigenen Restaurant Oktopussy begonnen. Im Gegensatz zum klassischen Insel-Frühstücksbuffet bestellt man hier à la carte. Neben leckeren Frühstück-Tabletts hat die Karte auch Specials wie die Power-Bowl „Morning Glory“, den „Sweet & salty Pancake Morning“ und den Bagel Roastbeef „Surf & Turf“ im Angebot.

newwave Frühstück 0826

2 SPOT

Wilder Oststrand

strand Norderney

Gut gestärkt, erkundet man nach dem Frühstück die Insel am besten mit dem Fahrrad. Gegen eine Gebühr kann man die hoteleigenen Fahrräder nutzen und direkt los. Generell gilt auf Norderney: je weiter man Richtung Osten radelt, desto ruhiger wird es. Wir empfehlen die kleine Wanderung vom östlichsten Parkplatz (53.713205, 7.257758) durch das Naturschutzgebiet bis ans Ende der Insel, wo ein Schiffswrack und der freie Blick auf Baltrum warten. Der Weg führt durch eine wunderschöne Dünenlandschaft voller unberührter Natur. Wenn man über den Strand am Nordufer zurückläuft, benötigt man 3-4 Stunden für die gesamte Strecke. Wer es sich lieber im Strandkorb gemütlich machen will, wird sich am West- und Nordstrand wohlfühlen.

bildschirmfoto 2020 10 20 Um 14.18.17

Norderney ist zu jeder Jahreszeit eine Reise wert. Wir empfehlen auf jeden Fall auch die Nebensaison im Herbst und Winter, wenn es etwas ruhiger wird auf der Insel und die Strände leerer werden. Das New Wave Hotel eignet sich für diese Zeit perfekt als Ausgangspunkt für Radtouren und lange Strandspaziergänge. Morgens bekommt man hier eins der besten Frühstücke auf der Insel und kehrt man nach einem Tag an der frischen Luft hungrig zurück, wird man im Restaurant Oktopussy mit einem leckeren Abendessen verwöhnt.

3 SPOT

Restaurant Oktopussy

newwave Restaurant Oktopussy 0477

Nach einem langen Tag am Strand kann man den Sonnenuntergang von der Skyfall Bar auf dem Dach des Hotels bei leckeren Drinks genießen. Auch wenn man nicht von überall einen Blick aufs Meer hat, kann man hier gemütlich über den Dächern sitzen. Ein absolutes Highlight ist das Abendessen im Restaurant Oktopussy, welches von Sascha Lissowsky geleitet wird, der seine mehrjährige Erfahrung aus der Sterneküche im Restaurant „La Vie“ in Osnabrück nach Norderney bringt.

newwave Food 016

Nach einem Tag mit viel „maritimen Aerosol“ ist das leger-leidenschaftliche und bodenständige Konzept aus internationalen Gerichten und regionalen Zutaten die perfekte Mischung für einen schönen Abend. Die Karte wechselt monatlich und das Angebot lässt absolut keine Wünsche offen. Das junge, aufmerksame Team um den Küchenchef sorgt dafür, dass man sich den ganzen Abend wohlfühlt. Nach dem Essen sind es dann nur wenige Schritte bis ins Zimmer, wo man sich glücklich ins kuschelige Bett schmeißen kann. Wer zur Hauptsaison im Restaurant essen will, sollte frühzeitig reservieren, denn die 80 Plätze sind heiß begehrt.

P.S.: Wer in Berlin lebt, kann sich bereits vor der Reise nach Norderney in der Anouki Brasserie in Charlottenburg ein Bild von Sascha Lissowsky’s Küche und Familie Möllers Restaurantphilosopie machen.

newwave Food 019

 

 

 

Verwandte Produkte

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Schließen

Du wirst direkt zu unserem Verlagsshop weitergeleitet

→ Jetzt besuchen!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Teilen