Facebook Instagram

Take a Stroll at the Water’s Edge: Four Stunning Lakes Near Munich

Munich’s countryside offers an abundance of routes with impressive mountainscapes. Whether you’re simply looking to cool off in glistening waters or planning a full day’s hike, we recommend setting out to discover the following four pristine lakes and their natural surroundings.

Scroll
show Close
1 NORTH

Hollerner See

Munich city-centre 23 km
Car <30 min
PT <75 min

Hollerner See München

The mounds of gravel remind us of our favourite Nordic dunes; the turquoise-blue waters bring back fond memories of the South Seas. A visit to Hollerner See near Eching feels like a dreamy holiday at the seaside. Where excavators once shovelled dirt, holidayers now splash in the waters that illustrate the gravel pit lake’s winding shorelines. Meanwhile, sun-seekers come from all parts of the country to spread their towels on Hollerner See’s sandy beach, soft sunbathing lawn and concrete steps. The circular path that traces the lake’s circumference is perfect for a relaxing walk. If you’re eager to delve deeper into the art of forest bathing, we recommend paying a visit to Mallertshofer Holz. Numerous walking and cycling trails invite you to immerse yourself in pine forests and lose track of time in heath meadow landscapes.

München Edition
p. 26

Directions Hollerner See Parking Lot

2 EAST

Tinninger See

Munich city-centre 76 km
Car <75 min
PT <120 min

Tinninger See München

If you’re looking for a Bavarian day trip, Tinninger See is a beautiful destination not far from Chiemsee. In summer, algae and creeping grass from the moor can cause fluctuations in the lake’s water quality. However, to cool off, you can still wade into the shallow waters or let your feet dangle from the wooden pier and enjoy the panoramic views of the Chiemgau Alps. For the best views of the mountains surrounding the lake, we recommend setting out to explore the idyllic Upper Bavarian scenery near Riedering. The four-kilometre circular trail will guide you through untouched nature along the lake’s shore in the south, through wild meadows in the east and past the edge of an enchanting forest in the north. If you get hungry along the way, we recommend stopping for a bite to eat in the beer garden Gasthaus Antretter.

München Edition
p. 86

Directions Tinninger See Parking Lot

3 SOUTH

Wagenbrüchsee

Munich city-centre 96 km
Car <90 min
PR <135 min

Wagenbrüchsee Geroldsee München

Wagenbrüchsee well-worth the drive down from the city. The scene that greets you upon arrival at this pristine moorland lake’s shorelines is breathtaking—enchanting forests and mountain meadows encircle the gentle, glistening waters that dance in the sun. Meanwhile, Karwendel and Wetterstein mountains’ Alpine panorama makes for a majestic backdrop. Wagenbrüchsee sometimes also goes by the name of Geroldsee. This idyllic destination is only 20 kilometres from Walchensee, one of the most popular lakes in the region. A postcard-worthy circular trail leads around the entire lake. You’ll come across a couple of places en-route that tempt you to take a break and go for a dip. Some local farmers may charge a small entrance fee in summer—we guarantee the tranquillity you can experience here is priceless!

München Edition
p. 168

Directions Wagenbrüchsee

4 WEST

Weßlinger See

Munich city-centre 31 km
Car <45 min
PT <45 min

Weßlinger See München

While many hiking trails in Bavaria are tricky to reach by public transport, Weßlinger See in the Bavarian Alps’ foothills is just a stone’s throw away from the nearest S-Bahn station. As the smallest body of water in the Fünfseenland region (alias The Land of the Five Lakes), this lake is well-suited for a short circular tour on foot. The idyllic, two-kilometre-long path will take you past the former home of renowned physician Alois Alzheimer. We recommend finding a spot to relax in one of the fields or on one of the wooden piers along the lake’s eastern shore. You can swim out to the island in the middle of the lake from the pier in front of the kiosk. The lake’s refreshing waters are fed by underground springs.

München Edition
p. 208

Directions Bahnhofsstraße West Parking Lot

Gaze at the mountains with the wind in your hair and shallow waters at your feet

Wohe Sometimes we wonder why spending time near water makes us feel so much more relaxed and content? The moment we make our way across a lawn barefoot and dive headfirst into an ice-cold lake, our worries seem to melt away…. While we might not brave Germany’s icy waters in winter, we do enjoy returning to their shorelines with the turn of every season. Bavaria’s glittering waters are characterised by the impressive mountainscapes that rise from their backdrops. Rain or shine, the four lakes we recommend in this article make for memorable days at the water’s edge in the Bavarian countryside.

To discover more of our favourite lakes and bathing spots in Bavaria, grab a copy of our Take Me to the Lakes – München Edition. In this design travel guide, we guide you to the most beautiful lakes north, south, east and west of Munich city-centre. We bring you some of Bavaria’s classics, such as Chiemsee, Ammersee or Tegernsee. We also guide you to some lesser-known ponds and secluded bathing spots. And because we want to inspire you to spend as much time as possible in nature, our Take Me to the Lakes – Weekender Edition München, features 50 of the region’s accommodations near bodies of water.

Please note that our München Edition and Weekender Edition München are currently only available in German.

Related Products

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Close

You will be forwarded directly to our publishing shop

Shop now!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Share

Menü Schließen
Facebook Instagram

Vier schöne Seen für einen Spaziergang am Wasser im Münchner Umland

Im Münchner Umland gibt es besondere Badeseen, die nicht nur für einen Sprung ins kühle Nass empfehlenswert sind: Diese vier Seen könnt ihr bei einem Spaziergang auf malerischen Rundwegen erkunden – mal mit Bergpanorama, mal mitten durch unberührte Natur.

Scrollen
anzeigen Schließen
1 NORDEN

Hollerner See

München Zentrum 23 km
Auto <30 Min.
ÖV <75 Min.

Ein Besuch am Hollerner See bei Eching fühlt sich an wie ein Kurzurlaub am Meer: Der aufgeschichtete Schotter des Kieswerks erinnert an Dünen, das türkisblaue Wasser an die Südsee. Wo früher die Bagger schaufelten, wird heute am geschwungenen Kiesufer geplantscht und das Handtuch auf Sandstrand, Liegewiese oder Betonstufen ausgebreitet. Um den See herum führt ein Rundweg, der stellenweise am Ufer entlangführt und sich perfekt für einen entspannten Spaziergang eignet. Wer noch Lust auf eine Runde Waldbaden hat, macht noch einen Abstecher in das nahegelegene Mallertshofer Holz. Hier gibt es einige Spazier- und Radwege, auf denen ihr zwischen Kiefernwäldern und Heidewiesen laufen und Schafsherden beim Grasen zuschauen könnt.

München Edition
S. 26

Anfahrt Parkplatz Hollerner See

2 OSTEN

Tinninger See

München Zentrum 76 km
Auto <75 Min.
ÖV <120 Min.

Tinninger See München

Der Tinninger See kurz vor dem Chiemsee ist ein schönes Ziel für einen Tagesausflug in Bayern. Im Sommer schwankt die Wasserqualität zwar, da sich Algen und Schlinggras am Moorsee tummeln. Die Füße kann man im seichten Uferbereich oder am Holzsteg aber trotzdem herrlich ins kühle Nass halten und den Panoramablick auf die Chiemgauer Alpen genießen. Am liebsten fahren wir allerdings in die oberbayerische Idylle bei Riedering, um mit Bergblick rund um den malerischen Tinninger See zu spazieren. Der Rundweg ist vier Kilometer lang und führt euch durch unberührte Natur am Südufer entlang, durch Felder im Osten und vorbei am Waldrand im Norden. Wer hungrig ist, kehrt danach im nahegelegenen Biergarten des Gasthaus Antretter ein.

München Edition
S. 86

Anfahrt Parkplatz Tinninger See

3 SÜDEN

Wagenbrüchsee

München Zentrum 96 km
Auto <90 Min.
ÖV <135 Min.

Wagenbrüchsee Geroldsee München

Der Wagenbrüchsee ist zwar ein Stück von der Stadt entfernt, hat man den naturbelassenen Moorsee allerdings erst einmal erreicht, kommt man aus dem Staunen nicht mehr heraus: Umgeben von Wald und Bergwiesen glitzern die sanften Wellen in der Sonne, während sich im Hintergrund das Alpenpanorama aus Karwendel- und Wettersteingebirge majestätisch aufbaut. Das besondere Ausflugsziel, übrigens auch unter dem Namen Geroldsee bekannt, ist nur 20 Kilometer vom beliebten Walchensee entfernt und Idylle pur. Um den See herum führt ein malerischer Rundweg, auf dem ihr das Postkartenmotiv von allen Seiten bestaunen könnt. Unterwegs laden am Ufer einige Stellen zum Baden ein. Die örtlichen Bauer*innen verlangen im Sommer zwar eine kleine Eintrittsgebühr – aber die Ruhe, die man hier erleben darf, ist unbezahlbar!

München Edition
S. 168

Anfahrt Wagenbrüchsee

4 WESTEN

Weßlinger See

München Zentrum 31 km
Auto <45 Min.
ÖV <45 Min.

Weßlinger See München

Viele Ausflugsziele in Bayern lassen sich nur schwer mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erreichen. Anders der Weßlinger See im bayerischen Voralpenland, der nur einen Katzensprung von der S-Bahnhaltestelle entfernt liegt. Als kleinstes Gewässer im Fünfseenland ist der durch unterirdische Quellen gespeiste Badesee gut für eine Umrundung zu Fuß geeignet. Nimmt man den idyllischen, etwa zwei Kilometer langen Rundweg, läuft man direkt am ehemaligen Wohnhaus des Mediziners Alois Alzheimer vorbei. Wer sich danach noch eine Runde abkühlen möchte, kann sich am Ostufer auf Wiesen oder Stegen niederlassen und vom Holzsteg am Kiosk aus bis zur mittig gelegenen Insel schwimmen.

München Edition
S. 2048

Anfahrt Parkplatz Bahnhofsstraße West

Entlang seichter Ufer, die Berge im Blick und den Wind in den Haaren

Woher kommt es eigentlich, dass man sich immer sofort besser fühlt, wenn man sich an einem Gewässer aufhält? Wenn ihr euch das auch fragt, haben wir eine Buchempfehlung für euch: In „Blue Mind“ erklärt ein Meeresbiologe, warum wir am Wasser glücklich sind. Fakt ist, dass Alltagsstress und sonstige Sorgen sind meist just in dem Moment vergessen sind, in dem wir barfuß über eine Wiese laufen und kopfüber in einen eiskalten See eintauchen. Auch in allen anderen Jahreszeiten führen uns unsere Ausflüge meistens an die Seen in der Region. Bestenfalls gibt es noch einen hübschen Rundweg, auf dem wir am Ufer entlang spazieren und das Panorama genießen können. Besonders schön geht das in Bayern, weil neben dem Glitzern der Wasseroberfläche meist auch eine eindrucksvolle Bergkulisse auf uns wartet. Wenn euch am nächsten sonnigen Tag also der Sinn nach einem Ausflug steht, empfehlen wir euch diese vier bayerischen Seen, an denen ihr herrlich am Wasser spazieren gehen könnt!

Noch mehr Empfehlungen für Lieblingsseen und Badestellen in Bayern findet ihr in der Take Me to the Lakes – München Edition. In diesem Design-Guide nehmen wir euch mit zu den schönsten Seen nördlich, südlich, östlich und westlich des Münchner Stadtzentrums. Dabei zeigen wir euch nicht nur Klassiker, wie den Chiemsee, Ammersee oder Tegernsee, sondern vor allem auch versteckte Weiher und abgelegene Badestellen in Bayern, die nicht jeder kennt. Und damit ihr so viel Zeit wie möglich in der Natur verbringen könnt, stellen wir euch in der Take Me to the Lakes – Weekender Edition München die 50 schönsten Unterkünfte in Wassernähe vor!

Verwandte Produkte

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Schließen

Du wirst direkt zu unserem Verlagsshop weitergeleitet

→ Jetzt besuchen!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Teilen