Menu Close

Water Illustrations & Photography—a Conversation with Julian Piehler

Photography Julian Piehler
Scroll

Julian Piehler loves spending his free time at lakes and seas in and around Berlin—his outdoor adventures take him swimming, boating, and in search of inspiration for his water-themed illustrations and photographs.

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Who are you, where are you from, what do you do?

Hej, my name is Julian, and I’ve been living in Berlin for eight years. I’m originally from Brandenburg an der Havel, so I grew up between lakes, rivers, and lots of forests and fields. My love for nature is rooted in these landscapes.
In addition to being a Social Media Manager, I’m passionate about photography and illustration as well as new magazines, minimalist design, and purist aesthetics. Because I spend most of my time working in an office, I try to devote every free minute I have to the outdoors. This pastime includes everything from discovering beautiful and inspiring cities, such as Copenhagen or Paris, to short trips to the Baltic Sea. In my eyes, the Baltic Sea is the sea with the most beautiful coast, making it one of my all-time favourites. I’m especially fond of the Darß.

View this post on Instagram

silent shore

A post shared by julian piehler (@julian____p) on

haus In Ahrenshoop

You illustrate and photograph water. What fascinates you about this element?

I’ve always had a soft spot for details. I was interested in discovering new perspectives and angles—teaching the eye to recognise something that would typically go unnoticed as you walk by. From the headlights of classic cars or macro shots of leaves and plants, many of the motifs I select are static. I can influence the light, sit tight until the wind subsides, and patiently wait for the perfect moment to release the shutter.

welle

This process is slightly different when you’re by the sea. You never know what you’re going to get—depending on the weather, it can be tempestuous or still, light or tinted dark.

processed With Vsco With M5 Preset
Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

I could spend an entire hour standing in the same spot, taking 3,000 photos from one angle, and yet I’d end up with 3,000 different photographs. That’s what excites me—it’s tremendously calming. I can also transfer this approach to my water illustrations. Here, however, I can decide for myself how I want “my sea” to look.

What prompted you to start drawing water, and how do you go about it?

For a long time, I only drew minimalist floral motifs. But after the twentieth fern, I needed a new graphic challenge.

So I tried to translate things that I already liked to photograph to paper: waves, shorelines, rough seas, calm oceans.

meer

I capture most of these motifs from images in my mind—I rarely draw inspiration from photographs. That said, I still feel the need to change things up from time to time. Hence, I recently started combining nature illustrations with urban landscapes. My focus here always lies on the depiction of the horizon—there needs to be enough free space towards the upper part of the composition. I illustrate the drawings by hand, scan them, vectorise them, and then drape them over a light-grey background to maintain consistency in my aesthetic.

What is the story behind this photograph?

View this post on Instagram

morning light | lakeside

A post shared by julian piehler (@julian____p) on

Truth be told, somehow, I’ve always managed to find the best motifs and take the best pictures when I wasn’t looking for them intentionally. That’s also how this one came to be. It was the morning of 1 January, 2018. I had spent New Years Eve with close friends in a little house at Zeuthener See in Brandenburg. That morning, while everyone else was still sound asleep, I walked down to the lake and stood on the pier.

regentag In Dünen

Just like any other first of January day, everything felt peaceful and dreamy in contrast to the lake which had already awakened from its slumber. The rising, crisp winter sun glistened on its surface.

The previous night still lingered in my body. And so it was simply the picture that I took in that moment.

Describe what a typical day by a lake looks like for you. 

If go to a lake for a day, it’s usually on the weekend or while I’m on holiday—this in itself is already quite nice. I’ll be excited to enjoy the weather and the fresh air in the company of a good magazine or book, while ready to switch off. That said, I rarely laze around. I’ll usually rent a boat and set out from the shoreline to explore the lake’s waters. Last summer, my friends and I started scouting out the best boat rentals around Berlin—sailing boats, motorboats, pedal boats, all kinds of boat really. Our aim was to visit lakes we hadn’t yet been to. Summer is an especially good time to escape the hot, crowded city for a day.

processed With Vsco With M5 Preset

So where’s your favourite place to swim?

I love jumping directly into the water from a boat that’s anchored somewhere—preferably at Rietzer See, which is in a bird reserve near my hometown, or at Zeuthener-/Crossinsee south of Berlin. There’s usually not a lot going on in either of these places, so you can enjoy some peace and quiet, while the nearby wilderness beckons. And who knows, I might just come across a new motif for my lens or pen en route.

see In Brandenburg


Head over to @julian____p to discover more of Julian’s water illustrations and lake photography.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

  Subscribe  
Notify of

Related Products

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Close

You will be forwarded directly to our publishing shop

Shop now!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Share

Menü Schließen
Facebook Instagram

Wasserzeichnungen und Fotografie – ein Gespräch mit Julian Piehler

Fotografie Julian Piehler
Scrollen

Julian verbringt seine Freizeit am liebsten an den Seen und Meeren um Berlin – nicht nur zum Schwimmen und Bootfahren, sondern um Inspiration zu sammeln. Er zeichnet und fotografiert Wasseroberflächen. Ein Interview. 

Erzähl uns etwas über dich. Wer bist du, woher kommst du, was machst du?

Hej, ich bin Julian und wohne seit acht Jahren in Berlin. Ursprünglich komm‘ ich aus der Stadt Brandenburg an der Havel, wo ich zwischen Seen, Flüssen, vielen Wäldern und Feldern groß geworden bin. Daher wohl auch meine Liebe zur Natur. 
Neben meinem Job als Social Media Manager begeistere ich mich für die Fotografie und Illustration, aber auch für Magazine, minimalistisches Design und puristische Ästhetik. Da ich den Großteil meines Jobs im Büro verbringe, versuch ich jede freie Minute draußen zu sein. Das kann das Erkunden schöner und inspirierender Städte wie Kopenhagen oder Paris sein, oder auch ein Kurztrip zur Ostsee. Für mich ist sie noch immer das favorisierte Meer mit der schönsten Küste – gern zu genießen am Darß. 

View this post on Instagram

silent shore

A post shared by julian piehler (@julian____p) on

haus In Ahrenshoop

Du zeichnest und fotografierst Wasser. Was fasziniert dich daran?

Ich hatte schon immer ein Faible für Details. Mich hat das Entdecken neuer Perspektiven und Blickwinkel interessiert – das Auge zu schulen etwas zu erkennen, woran man sonst vorbeilaufen würde. Viele der Motive, die ich wähle, sind statisch. Seien es Autoscheinwerfer von Oldtimern oder Makroaufnahmen von Blättern und Pflanzen. Ich kann das Licht beeinflussen, auf den richtigen windstillen Moment und den für mich perfekten Augenblick warten, um auf den Auslöser zu drücken. 

welle

Bei Meer ist es etwas anderes. Man weiß nie was man bekommt – ist es tosend oder still, hell oder wetterbedingt dunkel gefärbt.

Ich könnte eine Stunde am gleichen Punkt stehen, 3000 Bilder aus einem Blickwinkel aufnehmen, und doch würde ich 3000 unterschiedliche Fotos haben. Das reizt mich daran – und beruhigt ungemein. Gleiches lässt sich auch auf das Zeichnen von Wasser übertragen, nur dass ich hier selbst bestimme wie „mein Meer“ auszusehen hat. 

Wie bist du auf das Wasserzeichnen gekommen und wie gehst du dabei vor?

Lange Zeit hab ich nur florale minimalistische Motive gezeichnet. Doch nach dem zwanzigsten Farn brauchte ich eine neue grafische Herausforderung.

Daher habe ich versucht das zu übertragen, was ich eh schon gern fotografiert habe: Wellen, Uferzonen, raue See, stilles Meer.

Das meiste passiert aus dem Kopf, selten nehme ich mir Inspiration von Fotografien. Dennoch brauch ich auch die Abwechslung und vermische seit neustem Natur- und Städteillustrationen. Hier liegt mein Fokus immer auf der Darstellung des Horizonts – gen oberen Bildteil muss immer genügend Freiraum bleiben. Ich zeichne die Bilder via Hand, scanne sie, vektorisiere sie und drapiere sie auf hellgrauem Untergrund um eine gleichbleibende Ästhetik für mich zu gewährleisten.

Was ist die Geschichte hinter diesem Bild?

View this post on Instagram

morning light | lakeside

A post shared by julian piehler (@julian____p) on

Die besten Bilder und Motive sind mir tatsächlich immer gelungen, wenn ich nicht geplant habe welche zu finden. So auch mit diesem. Es war der Morgen des 1. Januar 2018. Nachdem ich mit lieben Freunden zuvor in einem Häuschen am Zeuthener See in Brandenburg entspannt Silvester gefeiert habe, ging ich, als alle noch schliefen, morgens zum See runter und stellte mich auf den Steg.

Wie immer am ersten Januar wirkte alles ruhig und verschlafen – im Gegensatz zum schon wachen See. Auf diesem spiegelte sich die klare aufgehende Wintersonne.

Auch noch nicht richtig fit, die letzte Nacht in den Knochen, war es tatsächlich auch nur ein Bild, das ich davon aufnahm.

Wie sieht ein Tag am See für dich aus?

Ein Tag am See bedeutet eigentlich immer dass Wochenende ist oder Urlaub – was an sich ja schonmal schön ist. Ich freu mich, das Wetter zu genießen, auf die frische Luft, ein gutes Magazin oder Buch mitzunehmen und einfach abzuschalten. Selten liege ich auch einfach nur da, sondern leihe mir gern ein Boot aus um den See nicht nur vom Ufer aus zu erkunden. Seit diesem Sommer habe ich angefangen, mit Freunden die besten Ausleihstationen rund um Berlin auszukundschaften – egal, ob Segel-, Motor- oder Tretboot – und dadurch neue Seen kennenzulernen. Gerade im Sommer ist ein Tag am See für mich die perfekte Möglichkeit, der heißen und vollen Stadt zu entfliehen.  

Und wo schwimmst du am liebsten?

Am liebsten springe ich vom Boot in den See, das irgendwo geankert hat. Gern in der Nähe meiner Heimatstadt im Rietzer See mit seinem Vogelnaturschutzgebiet oder der Zeuthener-/Crossinsee südlich von Berlin. Hier ist nicht allzu viel los, man hat noch seine Ruhe und wilde Natur wartet darauf entdeckt zu werden. Und wer weiß, vielleicht finde ich ja auch hier ein neues Motiv für die Linse oder den Stift.

Schaut unbedingt auf Julians Instagram-Account @julian____p vorbei, um noch mehr von seinen Wasserzeichnungen und Seefotos zu finden.

Verwandte Produkte

Loading products ⌛️ ...
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Schließen

Du wirst direkt zu unserem Verlagsshop weitergeleitet

→ Jetzt besuchen!

Loading cart ⌛️ ...
Teilen